Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Re: 12 months work experience (teachers)

Re: 12 months work experience (teachers)

Old Jul 7th 2008, 11:12 am
Just Joined

Craig and Cat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 12 months work experience (teachers)

Hi

Please could anyone provide any advice with regards to the 12 months experience required for PR.

Does this mean one academic year or a full 12 months?

I am going to be doing supply from September and I have been guaranteed a minimum of 20 hours a week; therefore, when would I be eligible to apply for the PR visa?

Any advice gratefully appreciated...
Old Jul 7th 2008, 11:38 am
WS

WS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond repute

An academic year is counted as 12 months.

If you are in a permanent job, you start on 1st Sept and finish in July but you are still employed until 31st August.

If you are supply teaching it is much harder to make up the 12 months as you would be unlikely to get a job throughout the summer holidays for 20 hrs a week and have pay slips to prove this.
Old Jul 7th 2008, 11:46 am
Just Joined

Hi

Thanks for getting back so soon.

It is supply teaching that we would be doing to get the experience...

If this is the case, when do you think we would need to be doing the supply up until to get the 12 months...?

Cheers
Old Jul 7th 2008, 11:58 am
WS