Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Please can anyone advice me?

Please can anyone advice me?

Old Jul 20th 2009, 9:42 pm
Just Joined

mrsminkie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Please can anyone advice me?

Hello,

This is my first post. My husband and I have recently decided to emmigrate so we're still in the early stages of finding out what visas and SOL's are!

I have a Mech Eng degree, but haven't worked in the industry. Apparently I'm 5 points short of a Skilled migrant visa. However, Since having my daughter last year and wanting to have more children, I have decided to go into teaching as it's a job that I know I'll enjoy and will fit around a family. Also, hopefully, it's a vocation that I can find work in in the UK but also hopefully in Australia when we emmigrate. I'm due to start my PGCE in the next few months.

Please can anyone help me fill in some more of the blanks i.e. realistically - how many years experience do I HAVE to have before I could find a job in Australia? Any tips for increasing my chances?

Many thanks

Lorraine

p.s. I do have my heart set on Queensland, but I'm realistic and know that I need to know where the work is. My husband used to work in IT and as it's in demand is going to re-enter the industry and take his MCSE to increase his skills.

Last edited by mrsminkie; Jul 20th 2009 at 10:26 pm.
Old Jul 21st 2009, 12:04 am
Living the dream!

kar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to allkar-kier is a name known to all
Default Re: Please can anyone advice me?

Originally Posted by mrsminkie
Hello,