Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

457 sponsorship for 14 months? Worth it?

457 sponsorship for 14 months? Worth it?

Old Aug 27th 2009, 1:28 pm
missapps

missapps will become famous soon enough
Default 457 sponsorship for 14 months? Worth it?

Hello again,
So im a week away from pushing the button on my 487 visa to stay in rural WA and teach here for 2 yrs then get PR through 887.
However have just had my catholic school interview and will hear next week with a possibility of securing this 457 sponsorship but only for 14 months at first depending on whether the maternity leave teacher comes back to her permanent job- therefore the job offer is for a temporary contract.

Does this mean that i will not be eligible for an ENS or RSMS visa because the job initailly is not for 2 years and teachers in catholic schools are not highly skilled?
Im confused- what do i do?
If successful in the job do i take it- am i better off on a 457
than my 487 which im fairly sure will be through in 5 months ish and i get a bridging visa anyway in the meantime when my WHV runs out?
Please advise-
Old Aug 31st 2009, 5:24 pm
BE Forum Addict

Australia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond reputeAustralia_bound? has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 457 sponsorship for 14 months? Worth it?

Originally Posted by missapps
Hello again,
So im a week away from pushing the button on my 487 visa to stay in rural WA and teach here for 2 yrs then get PR through 887.