Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

176 visa - Sponsorship - Registration needed ?! IELTS issue!

176 visa - Sponsorship - Registration needed ?! IELTS issue!

Old Feb 9th 2011, 6:44 pm
Just Joined

music121 will become famous soon enough
Default 176 visa - Sponsorship - Registration needed ?! IELTS issue!

Hi everyone,

I am about to apply for Vic. sponsorship, before trying to get a 176 SS visa to teach (in high school). I've been through the forum quite a lot, and haven't found an answer to my question. Is registration absolutely necessary for them before they sponsor us (if they do...) ?

-> I had my skills assessed positively last year by TA.
I also took the academic IELTS about 14 months ago, and scored an average of 8.5/9 (more than 7 in each band). I also have the necessary work exp.

Now: I have read on this forum that they asked applicants to register with the Vic. Institute of teachers, which...Only accepts the IELTS if it was taken less than 12 months ago!
I can't believe how complex (and expensive) the whole process is...
I would like to try to get everything done (including starting my application for the 176 visa) before the regulations change again (July)..., and can only start to ask for sponsorship in March. So I feel a bit in a hurry. Which makes me wonder if I should ask an agent to help me or not - I might do things faster myself (?) - and agents charge a lot, too.
I live in a French-speaking environment, so the agent might help (translating documents or reformulating things / certifying) more than if I did everything myself.

QUESTIONS:
- Do I absolutely need to be registered with the VIT before getting sponsorship? (If it works...) Even with my skills already positively assessed by TA? Does anyone know?