Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Why would you want to live in Mallorca?

Why would you want to live in Mallorca?

Old Jul 29th 2012, 12:38 pm
Just Joined

Abury is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Why would you want to live in Mallorca?

I was just reading through the threads about migrating to Mallorca and whilst I like Mallorca, I don't see why anyone would want to move there of all places. I have went on vacation a number of times to Mallorca and I've also rented a place whilst I worked there for a short period. So whilst I'm not an expert on the area I've had a chance to get a good look around.

The first thing I see when I visit Mallorca which makes me cringe is an advertising banner on the major roads out of Palma; it's written entirely in English and is for Burger King. This really demonstrates in my opinion a lot of what Mallorca is about, people going there aren't interested in Mallorcan culture and Mallorcans recognise this and destroy their own culture in order to make it look as much like England as possible.

If you get into any of the large tourist destinations you'll probably see a number of bars with names like English Bar, Irish Bar, Trotters. This again shows a lack of culture and an acceptance that visitors aren't interested in visiting a Spanish bar. The best you could expect of tourists to try the Spanish way of life is a Tapas bar with the menu in English.

Palma is apparently where over half of the island's population lives, yet even there it seems to have been butchered by the tourism industry. There, many of the signs for restaurants are in English.