Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Europe / Spain

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 15th 2017, 2:14 pm   #1
swinbc 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 46
swinbc will become famous soon enough
Default When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Could someone clarify if it is necessary to make a new or amend an existing declaration of the Model 720 if for instance an investment has matured and all the proceeds have been spent i.e not reinvested or increased cash balance in the bank.?
All the sites I have visited say to make a new declaration if a class of assets has increased by 20K Euros but cannot find any reference to notification of a removal of an asset?
Just seems wrong to have to pay for a gestor to amend or renew a Model 720 for something that is no longer in existence!
swinbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15th 2017, 3:24 pm   #2
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 4,325
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

You need to make a declaration when the value (in any of the asset classes) changes by 10000€ (20k??)or more (up or down).

So in your case, the investment has reduced by at least 10/20k so you need to do a new declaration.


It's not just if they have increased, it's if they have decreased as well. (ISTR)
__________________
www.casaelparque.com
snikpoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15th 2017, 3:44 pm   #3
swinbc 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 46
swinbc will become famous soon enough
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by snikpoh View Post
You need to make a declaration when the value (in any of the asset classes) changes by 10000€ (20k??)or more (up or down).

So in your case, the investment has reduced by at least 10/20k so you need to do a new declaration.



It's not just if they have increased, it's if they have decreased as well. (ISTR)
where are you getting your info from? I have been unable to find any official ref to decreased being a requirement to 're submit, of course gestors will tell you different money money. 're 20k euro change up that is definitely correct ( not 10k) but can find no official ref to decreases

Last edited by swinbc; Oct 15th 2017 at 3:48 pm.
swinbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15th 2017, 3:53 pm   #4
tebo53 Male
BE Enthusiast
 
tebo53's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Benidorm but In a world of my own....I'm told!
Posts: 680
tebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond reputetebo53 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinbc View Post
Could someone clarify if it is necessary to make a new or amend an existing declaration of the Model 720 if for instance an investment has matured and all the proceeds have been spent i.e not reinvested or increased cash balance in the bank.?
All the sites I have visited say to make a new declaration if a class of assets has increased by 20K Euros but cannot find any reference to notification of a removal of an asset?
Just seems wrong to have to pay for a gestor to amend or renew a Model 720 for something that is no longer in existence!
I understand the figure to be 20k up or down. I closed two empty bank accounts and was advised that I had to declare on an updated modelo 720.

Steve
tebo53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15th 2017, 5:19 pm   #5
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 4,325
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinbc View Post
where are you getting your info from? I have been unable to find any official ref to decreased being a requirement to 're submit, of course gestors will tell you different money money. 're 20k euro change up that is definitely correct ( not 10k) but can find no official ref to decreases
Just checked and it is 20k. My source is Blevins Franks on this.

Having just read this link, it seems I could be wrong about decreases.

http://www.agenciatributaria.es/AEAT...laracion.shtml
__________________
www.casaelparque.com

Last edited by snikpoh; Oct 15th 2017 at 5:22 pm.
snikpoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15th 2017, 8:00 pm   #6
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 45
Mustard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinbc View Post
Could someone clarify if it is necessary to make a new or amend an existing declaration of the Model 720 if for instance an investment has matured and all the proceeds have been spent i.e not reinvested or increased cash balance in the bank.?
All the sites I have visited say to make a new declaration if a class of assets has increased by 20K Euros but cannot find any reference to notification of a removal of an asset?
Just seems wrong to have to pay for a gestor to amend or renew a Model 720 for something that is no longer in existence!

If you look at it logically, Hacienda would be interested if an investment disappeared, as it must signify a sale and possibly incur a tax liability. If you've nothing to hide then best to update the 720 as these things tend to turn up down the road and bite you in the posterior.

As far as the practicalities, the 720 is not a difficult form to complete, and I imagine, easy to update as you should have a digital copy so you know which boxes to amend.

In my case, a gestor quoted a minimum of 250€ to complete the form to declare a UK property. He wanted me to produce the property deeds from the UK etc.etc. In the end it took me 30 minutes online.

If you don't fancy doing it yourself, don't be bamboozled by a Gestor claiming it is a complicated and expensive process.
Mustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16th 2017, 9:35 pm   #7
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 542
chopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond reputechopera has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

I'm a bit out of date on the 720, but I seem to recall that it was just a declaration of assets and supposedly unrelated to tax calculations. Is that no longer the case? (if it ever really was)
chopera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17th 2017, 9:21 am   #8
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 45
Mustard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by chopera View Post
I'm a bit out of date on the 720, but I seem to recall that it was just a declaration of assets and supposedly unrelated to tax calculations. Is that no longer the case? (if it ever really was)
You're right in that it is only a declaration of assets aimed at:

1 Identifying large accounts in foreign banks and then asking where the money came from.

2 If you have a property or investment overseas and declare its sale on the 720 then hacienda can, in theory, cross-check to see if you've declared any gain on your tax return. Whether they do or not I don't know.

In both cases it seems the objective is to collect taxes.
Mustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 4:20 pm   #9
Just Joined
 
Joined: Aug 2015
Location: Almunecar
Posts: 2
johnbear1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

I have been on the Agencia Tributaria website to apply for a digital signature which is required to use the online services and fill in the 720 form.I have been on it for 4 hours excluding tea breaks.It states 404 ERROR or sends me to a different page with no info that I can use.I am at a loss, so has anyone been successful or perhaps can help me in some way.
johnbear1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 4:24 pm   #10
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 4,325
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbear1 View Post
I have been on the Agencia Tributaria website to apply for a digital signature which is required to use the online services and fill in the 720 form.I have been on it for 4 hours excluding tea breaks.It states 404 ERROR or sends me to a different page with no info that I can use.I am at a loss, so has anyone been successful or perhaps can help me in some way.
We had to apply for ours in person at our local prop (I'm in the province of Valencia) office.
__________________
www.casaelparque.com
snikpoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 4:39 pm   #11
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 1,096
spainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

This I think answers your query

MODEL 720 : Declaration of assets and ownership
__________________
Rob
Spain Re-Exposed
spainrico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 6:25 pm   #12
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 4,325
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by spainrico View Post
This I think answers your query

MODEL 720 : Declaration of assets and ownership
It doesn't actually help explain how to do it oneself though - which was the question
__________________
www.casaelparque.com
snikpoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 6:33 pm   #13
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 1,096
spainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of lightspainrico is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

The question was:

`When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720'

not how to do it.

You actually answered in your first post. Mine was too add a bit more background.

AEAT explain all in English here
https://www.agenciatributaria.gob.es...ion/GI34.shtml
__________________
Rob
Spain Re-Exposed
spainrico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 7:36 pm   #14
bobd22 
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,469
bobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Is the first 720 submission submitted prior to the first tax submission?

Last edited by bobd22; Dec 28th 2017 at 7:39 pm.
bobd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28th 2017, 9:41 pm   #15
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Wales / Granada
Posts: 361
lurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond reputelurchio has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: When is it necessary to re declare a Modelo 720

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobd22 View Post
Is the first 720 submission submitted prior to the first tax submission?
Yes, ours was in Andalucia.Had to be done before the December end of the financial year, notwithstanding that our first declaration of Renta for the same tax year was not due until the following June of the next year.

Last edited by lurchio; Dec 28th 2017 at 9:49 pm.
lurchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Europe / Spain


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 am.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com