Moving to Asturias in April 2018

Moving to Asturias in April 2018

Old Nov 25th 2017, 8:38 pm
Just Joined

SpacemanP is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Asturias in April 2018

Hello all,

I am a newbie here on the ExPat forums.

In April of next year, I will be moving to Gijon to live a life with my girlfriend whom I've been dating for a year as a long-distance relationship (I feel confident in this relationship and have decided to bite the bullet and try to begin a new life in Spain).

I am a complete novice however and would very much appreciate anyone explain to me what I will have to do prior to moving to Spain, both on my side here in the UK and once I touch down in Spain.

At present I am planning to do a a few TEFL courses so that I could essentially attempt to teach English whilst I am there, as I know native english speakers are in high demand in Asturias.

However, I am curious as to what I need to do before-hand my main concerns are the following.

health care in spain and what I have to do with my existing UK healthcare
do I have to notify the UK HMRC??
does Spain have a NI number which I have to apply for???
Also how easy would work be able to obtain for an English speaker in Gijon or Oviedo??

My girlfriend and a few of her friends are teaching me Spanish and I am also learning very basically however I was wondering if any others who've moved from UK to Asturias could let me know how quickly they learned the language and also by what means did they find it best to learn the language.

Another thing has been removal companies, is it cheaper for me to hire a van say and drive to Gijon from the UK or are there good removals companies, I don't have much except a rather large vinyl record collection, books and guitars which I really would love to have with me in Spain.