Transferring skills to Uk

Old Apr 19th 2014, 5:21 am
Just Joined

almostdansk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Transferring skills to Uk

Hi on the advice of another member Ill ask this here

I am 53 and have been living in Denmark for the last 25 years, a plumber by trade and have worked as such for 20 years here in DK, but as I did my apprenticeship here I'm not sure how to proceed in the Uk.

also my safety net (job seeking Benefits) from Dk would only be good for three months so I would need to find employment before they expired, then I'm confused where I would stand if I did not manage to find a job.

I can stay with a very good friend to get me started so accommodation would not be an issue
Old Apr 19th 2014, 2:07 pm
BE Enthusiast

lgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Transferring skills to Uk

You would need to register as a job seeker in the UK. You would be eligible for UK job seekers benefits after 3 months if you can pass the habitual residence test that shows you are a resident of the UK with the intention to stay. You could check with the job centre as to whether you would need any further training, licenses to practice as a plumber in the UK.
Old Apr 19th 2014, 4:21 pm
Just Joined

almostdansk is an unknown quantity at this point

yes thank you, its the habitual residence test thats the problem as I've read it can take up to 6 months for a decision to be made and that would not be ideal for my situation.
Old Apr 19th 2014, 7:53 pm
BE Enthusiast