Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Scandinavia
Reload this Page >

moving to sweden from england. S1 form???

moving to sweden from england. S1 form???

Old Oct 8th 2011, 2:39 pm
Just Joined

iwaymo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default moving to sweden from england. S1 form???

hej, tjena, hi, hello.

i'm new to this sort of thing but i'm currently in gothenburg, i want to live in sweden. i love it here.
im 29 and english.
i went to the tax office in stockholm a couple of months ago to apply for my swedish ID number. they took copies of my passport and my proofs that i am financially independant and can support myself here in sweden.
i waited 4 weeks like they said, the girl in the tax office said it should be no problem.
after 6 weeks i received a letter saying my application was rejected as i did not include proof that i could support myself.
i went into the tax office in gothenburg to ask what happened and gave them proof of my financial holdings.
the lady there made some calls and said that all i needed to do to get my ID number was to get hold of an S1 insurance form.
i had never heard of this but went away to get online to look for it.
i cant find anything really and neither can my sister who is a lawyer back in the UK. the only thing we think it could be is the european health insurance card, which i already have. is it a matter of just taking that back into the tax office?

does anybody know if this is what they require please?

i have personal travel insurance too that runs for another 6 months as i've been traveling the world.

also finding places to rent is a nightmare. i am in the position to buy an apartment outright but i need to know if that's possible?
can i just walk into an estate agents and buy somewhere or do i need something before doing so?

im really stuck as i cant seem to find the right information anywhere.
i would really appreciate someone's help.

thankyou. tack så mycket.

andy
Old Oct 8th 2011, 9:36 pm