Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK > The Rovers Return
Reload this Page >

A CAUTIONARY TALE FOR THOSE WHO ARE PROUD TO BE BRITISH

A CAUTIONARY TALE FOR THOSE WHO ARE PROUD TO BE BRITISH

Old Nov 7th 2015, 2:40 pm
Just Joined

peridotleaf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A CAUTIONARY TALE FOR THOSE WHO ARE PROUD TO BE BRITISH

Although my late father was Italian and my late mother Scottish, I was born and bought up in England. Since I left college in 1976 I have been a freelance writer and artist, combining this with studying for a degree as a Chartered Librarian on day release from my job in a library. I continued studying whilst working full time and gained a second degree with honours in Philosophy and Art History with the Open University. Apart from a few years gap when I was looking after elderly parents and a husband dying from bowel cancer, I have always combined working with freelance illustrating and writing.
After the death of my father, I inherited a small legacy and decided that I had had enough of the British attitude to the arts, which is to treat us as second class citizens or even worse, unemployable, despite many of us having a hard working ethos and higher qualifications than necessary to do the day job most of us are forced to do. I made a clean break and moved to Amsterdam, where I spent a year building up a website and making contacts, even selling a few things along the way.