Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Is there any chance of moving to a Canadian force?

Is there any chance of moving to a Canadian force?

Old May 8th 2010, 4:40 pm
Just Joined

RustyDonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Is there any chance of moving to a Canadian force?

Hi all,
I have been thinking for a while of moving to Canada and the last couple of days the other half has come round to the idea, So it's time to strike while the iron is hot.
From what i have seen by looking on the net the last couple of days, the general opinion is that the Canadian forces are no longer accepting international applications. Is there any chance of being taken on by a BC or Alberta force? I have been a UK police officer for 7 years and part of that time as a dog handler and counter terrorist searcher. Are CT search skills needed in Canada?
I have served 7 years in the British army and spent sometime in Canada which i loved.

Any ideas or tips would be most helpful.

Thanks
Old May 8th 2010, 7:08 pm
BE Enthusiast

tim010 has a brilliant futuretim010 has a brilliant futuretim010 has a brilliant futuretim010 has a brilliant futuretim010 has a brilliant futuretim010 has a brilliant future
Default Re: Is there any chance of moving to a Canadian force?

Edmonton and Calgary were previously the only police services in Canada who were recruiting UK officers. Due to the current economic climate Calgary only take CV's to consider when and if they open up the international recruitment again. Edmonton will still let you apply but they have drastically cut recruitment in the last year so the situation with them will probably now be like in Calgary for the foreseeable future.

To the best of my knowledge no other forces in Canada will recruit you without PR or Canadian citizenship.

Tim
Old May 14th 2010, 7:27 am
Forum Regular