Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Need clarification please.

Need clarification please.

Old Jul 11th 2014, 3:09 pm
Just Joined

michelle782003 is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Need clarification please.

Hi All.

I think our dreams of moving to Oz are dwindling....

Husband is a police officer and wanting to apply as a police officer there. Just been told that he can't as you have to be a permanent resident. So the only way is for him to leave the force here and do a job over there that could be potentially be sponsored (like a prison officer??).

is this correct?
Thanks
Michelle
Old Jul 11th 2014, 6:49 pm
Just Joined

jonh701 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Need clarification please.

Originally Posted by michelle782003
Hi All.

I think our dreams of moving to Oz are dwindling....

Husband is a police officer and wanting to apply as a police officer there. Just been told that he can't as you have to be a permanent resident. So the only way is for him to leave the force here and do a job over there that could be potentially be sponsored (like a prison officer??).

is this correct?
Thanks
Michelle
To date it is only WAPOL and Victoria that have recruited from UK without PR or citizenship. Basically they sponsor you and take you on enabling you to move over to OZ permanently.

Victoria have not done so for years and WA are currently going through the current recruitment that started in March this year. Its a waiting game unfortunately. No other force out there will take you without PR im afraid
Old Jul 11th 2014, 6:51 pm
Just Joined

South Australia police even. Not Victoria 😁
Old Jul 11th 2014, 7:03 pm
Just Joined

Thank you.