Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Plumbers
Reload this Page >

Pipefitting Canada/New Zealand

Pipefitting Canada/New Zealand

Old Sep 3rd 2013, 8:26 am
BE Enthusiast

wardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Pipefitting Canada/New Zealand

December last year I was knocked back from a plumbing firm in alberta for not having city and guild level 2 in plumbing and a lack of experience (57 months). by March 2014 I will have the required 72,

However, my qualification is NVQ level 3 Heating and Ventilation commercial and industrial pipefitting, which in Britain never impeded me taking plumbing and pipefitting jobs from domestic to commercial to industrial.

The alberta institute of training said my qualifications were not suitable for plumbing.

Does this mean I cannot apply for plumbing work,and I am only limited to commercial and industrial work?

Furthermore it has been sometime since I looked at the job market is there still demand for pipefitting/plumbing?

Finally a friend of my dads is currently immigrating to New Zealand and has told me they are still in need of English speaking trades there, and that if Canada fails me again I would be better at looking to NZ. any NZ pipefitters/plumbers tell me how the land lies I would be grateful.

despite this forum being incredibly inactive at times I hope that I can get some answers here before pestering people on the ~NZ or Canada forums.

kind regards

wardy
Old Sep 8th 2013, 2:20 am
BE Enthusiast