Moving to Cebu....

Old Nov 3rd 2011, 2:06 am
Just Joined

Sagasa is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Moving to Cebu....

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie here so forgive me if I’m repeating stuff covered previously. I’m retired 12 years, married to a Filipina for the last 6 and we have 2 young boys. We’ve been living on a very small island north of Bohol, a 2 to 3 hour boat trip from Cebu.
For a number of reasons, not least being lack of local facilities and education options, we’ve decided to try life in Cebu, tho’ neither of us has lived there and we don’t know the city atall. Hence I have some immediate questions and we’d appreciate any advice offered....

Are there any particular areas/localities where expats tend to live?

We intend renting a furnished apartment/house initially while we get to know the city and experience life there … any tips on finding suitable rental accomodation?

We are looking at sending our oldest son to Cebu International School (CIS)… does anyone have any feedback or views on CIS?

Are there any particular bars/clubs favoured by expats? Or a particular golf club? … yacht club? Although happy with my family life, I’d enjoy some expat company whether it’s a beer and a yarn, a barbecue, a round of golf of whatever … (I’m the only english speaking person on our island so I’ve really missed decent conversation)

As I said we’ll be newbies in Cebu, so we’d be grateful for any advice, tips, ideas or guidance, brief or otherwise … thanks, DavidC
Old Nov 3rd 2011, 6:43 am
BE Enthusiast