Looking to work in Manila

Old Jan 5th 2015, 8:52 pm
Just Joined

Angel1403 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looking to work in Manila

Hi folks,

Sorry, its another of the "looking for work posts".......

Ok, I'm just turned 50 and married to a Filipino. I would love to be able to live and work in Manila with my wife, as we both have family and friends their. However, main family are far enough away not to be an issue.

We also hope to have my wife's niece join as, as she is already like our "adopted daughter" hehe. If it were not so complicated and expensive we would try to adopt her in the UK.

I currently work in Environmental Health, food safety and occupational health and safety enforcement/audit/inspection. I am also a trained photographer and videographer.

I would love to get a job with either an oil company or large international hotel chain or equivalent in Manila. Unfortunately, I have no contacts.

Can anyone provide advice/contacts please?

All information gratefully received.

Cheers
Old Jan 6th 2015, 7:58 am
BE Forum Addict

quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Looking to work in Manila

I've lost the website link , but google "balikbayan visa". this is a one year visa for spouses of Philippino citizens.
Can't really help with work, but as a balikbayan holder it is theoretically easier to get a work permit. Note however jobs here are difficult for foreigners and the wages are extremely low compared to what you are used to!
you could set up a company in your wifes name, but be careful!