Go Back   British Expats / Working Abroad / Working Abroad by Profession / Nurses, Doctors, and other Medical/Healthcare occupations

Old Aug 8th 2017, 6:59 pm   #1
Just Joined

Cocoabeach is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK nurse wants to move to US. Is it possible?

Hello,
I am a registered adult nurse in the UK with two and a half years post registration experience.

I am keen to emigrate to Florida with my husband and two sons. Having looked at a few forums, this is starting to look like the impossible dream. Does it really take 6 years to get a visa? Do US hospitals employ many UK nurses? Are there nursing jobs in Florida?

Looking at job sites, there seem to be jobs, but is this a true representation? I am reluctant to get my NCLEX if I never manage to get a visa.

So many questions! I hope there's someone out there who can answer some of them.

TIA
Cocoabeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8th 2017, 8:56 pm   #2
Boiler Male
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Boiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK nurse wants to move to US. Is it possible?

Could your Husband get a job transfer, look up L1 visa, you will get a L2 and be work authorised.

Office Poster of the Denver Broncos, Ex Superbowl Champions Go Broncos
Warning: My answers may be deceptively simple and quite likely incomplete.
Boiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8th 2017, 9:11 pm   #3
Just Joined

Thanks for your reply boiler. Unfortunately, the company he works for has no links to the US, so that's not an option for us.
Old Aug 8th 2017, 9:12 pm   #4
Boiler Male
Lost in BE Cyberspace