Help please UK GP to Canada GMC questions

Old Jun 21st 2017, 4:36 pm
Just Joined

syphern is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Help please UK GP to Canada GMC questions

Hi guys I will be moving to Canada soon have everything in place I needed to ask about GMC and keeping my license to practice.

If Canada doesn't workout for me I would want the option to come back - what would you advise in terms of my GMC membership?

Secondly, I would also like to continue paying into my state pension for UK I have been paying into it for the past 7 years or so since starting work - has anyone else been in this situation?

I will be putting my house on rent here in the UK - would I have to pay tax on this in both countries? Anyone in a similar situation?? When would I tell HMRC I am moving?

Thank you, I am grateful for your help. Sorry if the questions are stupid/basic
Old Jun 22nd 2017, 1:24 am
BE Forum Addict

quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help please UK GP to Canada GMC questions

I'm no Doctor but here's my opinion.
1. Why not ask the GMC? Probably means paying your annual licence fee.
2. Yes, you can continue paying into your UK State Pension - think it's now class 3 contributions. Ask the DWP , they'll sort you out. Many expats do this.
3.House Rent. Believe you can offset any UK tax paid against your Canadian tax under the double Taxation Treaty Double Taxation Treaties: territory residents with UK
income - Publications - GOV.UK