British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Nurses, Doctors, and other Medical/Healthcare occupations (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nurses-doctors-other-medical-healthcare-occupations-72/)
-   -   Nurse wanting to move to USA.. where to even begin?? Help needed (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nurses-doctors-other-medical-healthcare-occupations-72/nurse-wanting-move-usa-where-even-begin-help-needed-890331/)

sbsnurse Jan 18th 2017 10:21 pm

Nurse wanting to move to USA.. where to even begin?? Help needed

My husband and I have made the decision to move to America (or at least try).
I am a nurse with a DipHe in adult nursing and have worked in oncology since 2012.
I understand that you need exposures in peadiatrics, gyne and mental Heath.. at my university within our course we completed exposures to all these aspects but I don't know if this will be enough.. I have written evidence..
Also where do I even start? Would you recommend going through an international recruitment agency?
Any help no matter how small would be if great help..
we are hoping to go to Texas or Carolina.. obviously California is everyone's dream but I have read this can be really hard!
Thanks again
Sammi

Silverdragon102 Jan 18th 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Nurse wanting to move to USA.. where to even begin?? Help needed

Starting point would be checking out the board of nursing website for the state you want to live and work in. Your transcripts need to show both clinical and theory hours in Obstetrics, Mental Health, Paeds and Adult. Shortage in just one will result in not meeting state requirements and permission to sit NCLEX.

Demand for nurses isn't as high as several years ago so you will need to find employer willing to go the immigrant route and most employers prefer you have met state requirements first

sarasota chic Jan 19th 2017 7:59 pm