Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Nurses, Doctors, and other Medical/Healthcare occupations
Reload this Page >

(About to become a) newly-qualified RMN, looking to work in Canada

(About to become a) newly-qualified RMN, looking to work in Canada

Old Sep 14th 2010, 10:14 pm
Just Joined

ant368uk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default (About to become a) newly-qualified RMN, looking to work in Canada

Hello all:-)

I know that in Canada I can directly apply to register my RMN with Alberta, Manitoba, British Columbia and Saskatchewan. I suppose what I am looking to know is:

1) What are the job prospects like for newly-qualified UK RMNs in those provinces, and which are the best people to apply for a job through?

2) I have actually got 5 months left on my training course, is now too early to apply for jobs in Western Canada? Do I need to actually have my PIN first?

3) I will only have the DipHE, not the BSc degree (I have a Master's degree in an unrelated subject, so I am educated to post-grad level as it is). Will prospective mental health employers over there care much?

Any general advice on emigrating and moving to W Canada from nurses who've been there and done it would also be gratefully received! I suppose as well, should I be applying for a visa before a job, or after?

Many thanks!

Kind Regards,
Antony
Old Sep 14th 2010, 11:04 pm
BE Forum Addict

Silverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond repute