Reload this Page >

Total newbie looking for a bit of help

Total newbie looking for a bit of help

Old Nov 6th 2017, 2:18 pm
Forum Regular

WildfireV2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Total newbie looking for a bit of help

Hey guys,

I've been looking through some threads, but most of it, as with the other forums are mainly situations for established families.

Just to give a bit of context, I'm 28, British and currently on the two year IEC visa in Toronto.

I'm looking at going to Auckland next year in May when my visa runs out, for a year & maybe longer if I can afford it.

I thought about trying to go there without having a job lined up like I did when went from the UK to Canada, but this time I'd rather be more prepared. I currently work on a 1 year contract downtown with a US media firm that are also in Auckland so I figured that trying to do some sort of transfer through them would be the best bet.

But really I'd just like to know basic things for now like:

- What is the best site to use for finding a place to rent? (similar to kijiji)
- Is renting right near the core of the city viable? I currently pay $1100 in a 2BR condo in DT toronto right near all the action & love it, I don't want to have to commute in.
- the visa says you need $350 per month of stay, but realistically if you live in a normal place in the city, how much would you need without a job to survive for upto 3 months?
- On the topic of the visa, how does it work? As a brit you can just activate it and go? There must be some sort of arduous 6 month process to go through? If I was to start making headway into it now, would I be able to activate it for next may beforehand?

How would you compare the cost of living & lifestyle to Toronto?

One of the things I love about Toronto is there's always something to do, so many great bars within walking distance and plenty of other activities.