Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

To go or not to go...?

To go or not to go...?

Old Aug 7th 2008, 4:46 pm
Forum Regular

Flan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really niceFlan is just really nice
Unhappy To go or not to go...?

We're having major worries about the reality of life in New Zealand.

Although we love the country we can't seem to get the sums to add up!

Housing appears to be as expensive as the UK with rent being high too. Yet wages are so low in comparison - how does it work?!!! Being a teacher I will have to take a 50% cut in pay and that's if I work fulltime, OH will lose approx 1/3 of his wages too - this would be fine if it was relative to the cost of living but mortgages are sooooooo expensive in NZ

Can someone share any insight into how they have made this work? Do we just have to be rich before we go?! Any advice greatly appreciated.
Old Aug 7th 2008, 6:32 pm
BE Forum Addict

j19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond reputej19fmm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: To go or not to go...?

You sure on the teacher salaries Flan? They didn't look that bad to me (comprative to NZ prices), and the houses are a darn sight cheaper ,and bigger than round here. Perhaps you're looking at expensive areas? Don't make the mistake of turning it into GBP, it won't work!!
Old Aug 7th 2008, 7:37 pm
Forum Regular