Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Belgium , Netherlands, Luxembourg
Reload this Page >

I'm studying Dutch at a local college but who's paying for it???

I'm studying Dutch at a local college but who's paying for it???

Old Aug 3rd 2015, 11:48 am
Just Joined

ChristopherBarnett is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I'm studying Dutch at a local college but who's paying for it???

Okay so a few months ago I began to study Dutch at a local college. The week before the holidays I was asked to sign a contract to continue my study. This really confused me because who is actually paying for that education because education isn't free? I looked all over the contract for anything regarding tuition fee and such but couldn't find anything.

I had actually considered becoming a student and studying such things as I.T or business (there aren't a lot of courses taught in English) but does it even work the same as the British education system? Where you have to pay everything back at the end? Well clearly you have to pay everything back but you know what I mean. Somebody on my course asked me if I was living in student housing and all that but I had no idea what he was talking about. He told me that I should speak to the lecturer about it because they can maybe help me.

It just confuses me so so much because everybody in my class isn't even Dutch, they can barely talk Dutch let-alone English but they have income and a home. That doesn't anger me it merely confuses me because I'm struggling really hard to find work every single day and my living situation is pretty, well it's not good.

I have a BSN number and all that and I've been living here for about 3 years now.
Old Aug 5th 2015, 9:28 am
Just Joined

BjornNL is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: I'm studying Dutch at a local college but who's paying for it???