Moving back USA -> Europe

Old Nov 27th 2017, 2:23 am
Just Joined

Adam9 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving back USA -> Europe

Moving out of the U.S. to Europe

I know this forum is mainly for Brits living in the UK and around the world and since I am originally from Slovakia I might not fit in here :-)

My objective

- move out of the U.S. and get settled down in Europe (UK or Slovakia)
- I view this as a permanent move for the foreseeable future but want to remain doors to America open in a case I change my mind

My background

I moved to the U.S. in my early 20s and some time ago I became American citizen. Now I am in my early 30s, single, all closest family lives in Slovakia. I worked as a software developer and currently I am without a job (by choice). It is good to know there is pretty big worldwide demain for IT people. I cannot explain but America has lost its appeal to me, no longer I am motivated to look for a new job here or move to a new city, meet new people and etc. I am having an identity issue, I don’t know where I belong.

Questions?

Is there anyone here who went on a similar life path?

How did you go about moving from America?
Step by step, I wonder if you sold out everything, cancelled bank accounts, notified all agencies, etc.
I am on the verge of keeping my car for a while. On the other hand I would like to make the move so while in Europe I don’t have to think about any stuff in America.

For those who moved already: In retrospect, are you happy? Do you miss America?
I don’t know where I belong. I guess in my case being US citizen I can always go back legally, but practically it may be difficult since I may forget English, lose social contacts and so on.
Old Nov 27th 2017, 4:28 am
BE Forum Addict