Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Impressions after a week back

Impressions after a week back

Old Apr 20th 2006, 5:46 pm
Small Dane

Viking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to allViking Man is a name known to all
Default Impressions after a week back

I returned to the UK last week after living 8 years in Japan. It's my first time back in 8 years. After living so long in Japan I "went native" over there so to some extent I am seeing the UK through the eyes of a Japanese visitor. What a lot of shocks I have had in the last week!! Just for fun really, I thought I'd list up some of the initial impressions and things that struck me on my return:

(*) FAT PEOPLE!
The first thing I noticed as I left Heathrow: how come half the population is overweight? You rarely see obese people in Japan. I felt like I'd walked into a whale colony :-)

(*) BROKEN MACHINES.
Lifts, toilets, vending machines, telephones, escalators, trains: why are so many broken down? They're broken so much that they actually have printed signs saying that they're out of order!

(*) CAR PARK METERS DON'T GIVE CHANGE!
That is soooo annoying! A vending machine that doesn't give change is unimaginable in Japan.

(*) PRICES HAVE GONE INTO ORBIT!
I nearly keeled over on seeing the prices on my first visit to Sainsburys - about 50% higher than a typical Japanese supermarket. How does anyone feed their kids here?

(*) PEOPLE DRIVE TOO FAST!