Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Looking for advice.

Looking for advice.

Old Dec 19th 2004, 11:12 am
12th Man

Default Looking for advice.

Hi,

I am hoping to move from the UK to Dubai in 2005. My current plan is to travel to Dubai in March and commence my search for employment. I am an IT developer by trade, and I have spent the last six months searching websites for jobs using my skillset, but to no available. Therefore I am travelling to Dubai a little blind.

The majority of my (18 years!!) experience is as an IBM mainframe developer using Cobol, DB2 and CICS.

Are there employers in UAE/Dubai that require these skills or do I need to develop other skills or seek employement in a different field?

Any advice or help I can get before I travel would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks

Old Dec 19th 2004, 11:15 am
Dazed and Confused

Crying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant futureCrying Freeman has a brilliant future
Default Re: Looking for advice.

Originally Posted by 12th Man
Hi,

I am hoping to move from the UK to Dubai in 2005. My current plan is to travel to Dubai in March and commence my search for employment. I am an IT developer by trade, and I have spent the last six months searching websites for jobs using my skillset, but to no available. Therefore I am travelling to Dubai a little blind.

The majority of my (18 years!!) experience is as an IBM mainframe developer using Cobol, DB2 and CICS.

Are there employers in UAE/Dubai that require these skills or do I need to develop other skills or seek employement in a different field?

Many thanks

Firstly let me welcome you to the board.