Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Filling in a UK tax return

Filling in a UK tax return

Old Oct 18th 2017, 6:34 pm
BE Enthusiast

dominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond reputedominoman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Filling in a UK tax return

Hi all. It's my first year here in the middle east and I realise I need to do my UK tax return.

How do you guys do it?

In the UK I have always busy filed using the hmrc online form, which was pretty straightforward. I have a savings account and some dividends but nothing major. Now that I'm here we have rental income from renting our UK house.

I was planning to do the same this year and use the online hmrc form but according to this I can't as I'm no longer a resident.
https://www.gov.uk/tax-uk-income-live-abroad

Now I'm worried as it seems paper returns have to be in by end of October.

Am I misunderstanding? What's the easiest way to submit?

Thanks for any advice!
Old Oct 18th 2017, 9:38 pm
peterparker

Sabi Star is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Filling in a UK tax return

If you are renting through an estate agent I think they are legally obliged to inform HMRC of your rental income. You can phone the Self Assessment help phone line for people overseas on 00 44 1619319070 for information - week days UK time 8am - 8pm - also open at weekends - shorter hours.
Old Oct 18th 2017, 10:11 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace