Reload this Page >

Any Brits on Long Island, NY?

Any Brits on Long Island, NY?

Old Jan 11th 2010, 7:42 pm
Just Joined

ronkagirl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Any Brits on Long Island, NY?

Hi there,
I moved from London to Suffolk County, Long Island, NY in August 2008 with my husband and two children (a son, 15 and daughter, 12).

I am unable to work here on my husband's current work visa but I was a teacher back home. During the week I have a lot of free time which I spend by volunteering regularly. This helps me feel like I am contributing to society and, more importantly, enables me to avoid doing dull housework!

Although I am making some lovely new American friends State-side I often feel homesick and long for contact with fellow British ex-pats here on Long Island.

Drop me a line if you are interested in friendship!
Old May 23rd 2010, 11:39 pm
Just Joined

pranger is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Any Brits on Long Island, NY?

Hi!

I know you posted your message a while ago but only just found it! My husband and 20 month old moved to New York about two months ago and have been living in Midtown since we arrived. Funnily enough, I was also a teacher back in the UK.
The reason I'm posting is that we are moving to Garden City at the end of the week, which I know is in Long Island but still may be miles away from you!
Have you met any expats nearby? I've met a lovely bunch here but I've heard that Brits are few and far between on Long Island...

Louise
Old Nov 24th 2010, 10:10 pm
Just Joined

PhilN is an unknown quantity at this point

I know this is an old thread..... But I moved from the uk this year to marry my us citizen wife, we got married at the beach club in lake ronkonkoma, living in Huntington!
Old Nov 24th 2010, 11:25 pm
Forum Regular

usanewlife is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by PhilN