Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > ME Job Discussions
Reload this Page >

Formulating a target salary

Formulating a target salary

Old Jul 23rd 2014, 8:08 pm
Just Joined

stormwynd is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up Formulating a target salary

Hello!

I've had my first interview for an IT job @ an oil production firm in Doha, and would like to have a salary indication ready for when they ask (if I get to that point).

I've used the "is it worth it" guide to put a target budget together - the question mark comes in for the "savings" category. Of course I want to save as much as possible.

Some details...
  • I have roughly 4 years of experience that directly apply to this job, including a few certifications.
  • My current before-tax salary (in Denmark) equates to 33k QAR/month.
  • I'm American, single, 32... not a big party lifestyle.
  • Annual flight home is provided as a standard benefit
  • The job is in the oil production industry
  • It's direct-hire as an employee, not contractor etc.
  • Health insurance is provided.
  • The job has responsibility over several applications... that they are up and running, do what they need to do, are changed/enhanced as needed... with a touch of development work as well. (This isnt a "my keyboard doesnt work" IT role)
  • An end-of-service bonus is offered, basically 1 month salary. Annual bonuses are offered based on company + personal performance. Annual increases given according to my performance.
  • I work for the overall same company here, just in a different sector. I have a high performance record which the hiring manager has full access to see. The Doha employee handbook indicates I would get a housing + transport allowance suited to my job level, but no idea how much. Accom/car won't be provided.