Abu Dhabi - Teacher

Old Apr 25th 2011, 8:43 am
Just Joined

NorthernBelle31 is a jewel in the roughNorthernBelle31 is a jewel in the roughNorthernBelle31 is a jewel in the roughNorthernBelle31 is a jewel in the roughNorthernBelle31 is a jewel in the rough
Default Abu Dhabi - Teacher

Hi everyone, this is my first time on the forum! I'd really appreciate your advice/ opinions in relation to a job offer that I've recently received.

I am a primary school teacher with 9 years experience in the UK and Republic of Ireland. I was recently informed that due to budget cuts I was being made redundant from my teaching job here in the UK. Teaching overseas is something that I've always wanted to do, so this seems like the ideal opportunity to make the leap.

I would like to point out that my desire to teach overseas is not financially motivated - in the sense that I am not concerned with frantically saving and returning to the UK with a huge pot of money. I am interested in the experience overall, enjoying an outdoors lifestyle, and the opportunity to travel in my holidays to places that would be much more accessible when based in the middle east. I have had a pretty rough time of things on a personal level over the past couple of years and just want a complete change of scene!! I'm fairly well travelled and have lived in different countries before, so moving somewhere completely new is not as scary to me as it may be to some.

Anyway - the package I have been offered is: 11,077 AED per month, Accommodation in a furnished, one bedroom apartment (centrally located), utilities included. Yearly return airfare. Medical insurance. End of contract gratuity.
I have also been informed that the school allows teachers to offer one to one tuition which would be extra income - and that extra curricular activities incur a charge for each child which is paid directly to the teacher.