Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

Re: Interview for I-485,what is next??

Re: Interview for I-485,what is next??

Old Feb 24th 2001, 8:40 pm
Rajeev Khanna

Hi: I have been sponsored by my wife (Permanet Resident) in 1995 for the adjustment of
status. I got EAD a year ago and now my interview date is finally next month. Can anyone
tell me from experience what do they ask in interview.What I should be taking with me at
the time of interview. Once the interview is done, will they stamp my passport? how long
does it take to get the Green Card???

All help will be appreciated.

Thanks, Rajeev

Old Feb 25th 2001, 5:29 pm
Ed MacNeil

Hi Rajeev,

THIS SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED TO BE LEGAL ADVICE. I AM NOT A LAWYER. I DON'T EVEN PLAY
ONE ON TV!

It is usually a good idea for your wife, who is your sponsor, to accompany you.

You should bring the originals of any documents that were submitted to INS in the form of
photocopies. It is also a good idea to bring evidence that your marriage is a genuine one.
Such things as birth certificates of any children, evidence of jointly owned property or
financial accounts and photos showing you both together are sometimes helpful. You do not
need to volunteer any of this material unless asked. Also be sure that you and your spouse
bring some form of photo identification.

You should understand that the task of the INS officer is to determine if you are eligible
to adjust your status. He/she will therefore probably concentrate on issues directly
bearing on your admissibility. Some of the areas you can expect may be touched on will be
and arrests or other possible criminal activity, involvement with either the Communist or
Nazi parties, persecution of any other person. The form I-485 that you submitted to adjust
your status has, on page 3, a number of "Yes/No" questions. Each of these questions