Old Jan 13th 2018, 11:25 am
Forum Regular

Nicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond reputeNicola1234 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Newbie

Hi all,

I am totally new to all this so please excuse me if I ask a lot of questions
My fiancé is a USC and live in NYC and I am an UKC. We want to get married this year and I would move into his apartment. We are unsure of what route to take visa wise. We have been reading the documents on government websites but it’s confusing! We were looking at K-1 and then get married over in the states.
We both work full time and I want to work as soon as possible after my move.
Also what is the poverty line limit I keep seeing?

Thanks in advance

Nicola
Old Jan 13th 2018, 11:57 am
BE Forum Addict

tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie

If you want to work ASAP after your move then K-1 won't be good for you.

You're looking at around 100+ days from getting married and filing to adjust status til you get an EAD (employment authorization document).

If you want to work right away I suggest going across, getting married, and then filing for a CR-1.