Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

I-751: tax return as the evidence of our relationship

I-751: tax return as the evidence of our relationship

Old May 23rd 2008, 3:04 pm
Just Joined

luchikosho is an unknown quantity at this point
Red face I-751: tax return as the evidence of our relationship

I am a conditional permanent resident. My permanent residency status was granted in Nov 2006 and so my conditional green card expires in Nov 09/08.

We need to file the I-751 petition to remove the conditions on my permanent residency.

Together with the petition my husband and I should provide the
Evidence of our Relationship.

One of the possible evidence documents is a copy of our joint tax returns.
As I already mentioned, we arrived in the country at the end of the year 2006,we did not file any taxes for the year 2006.

2007 was our first business year in America.
I am a housewife.
My husband is a translator and interpreter.
He is self-employed and works for cash. There are no papers showing his income.
Most of the money he made in 2007 was spent on business development and we lived on savings that we made in Russia.

So, we are concerned that our 2007 tax return may look weird because it shows that all the money we made was spent on rent, utilities and on paying taxes and very little money left to live on.

Our 2007 joint tax return is an important document proving our relationship.

Can it look weird for the USCIS?
Will they pay attention to this?
We don’t want them to think that we are cheating on taxes.
We do not want them to invite us for the interview.

Do they, actually, pay attention to how much money we are making or to the fact that taxe return was filed jointly?
Old May 23rd 2008, 4:38 pm