Reload this Page >

First job interview tomorrow

First job interview tomorrow

Old Jan 3rd 2011, 11:45 pm
x 0 x

JB0591 will become famous soon enoughJB0591 will become famous soon enough
Default First job interview tomorrow

Hi

I have my first Canadian job interview tomorrow morning....whilst I've had a few interviews during my time in the UK, I am not sure what to expect tomorrow.

I know it is a panel of three people, two engineering managers and a HR person but thats about it.

Any advice?

(PS. I'm an Engineer, here on a skilled worker visa).

Cheers

JB
Old Jan 4th 2011, 12:14 am
BE Forum Addict

nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: First job interview tomorrow

Generally the 2 engineers will hit you with the "technical" side of the interview where the hr person is there to try and make sure you arent displaying serial killer properties

The 3 people hit seems to be used a lot in government interviews any I have been involved in from the interviewee or the interviewer side have always only involved 2
Old Jan 4th 2011, 1:07 am
Account Closed

fledermaus is an unknown quantity at this point

My experience of interviews here is that they expect you to talk for 10-15 minutes in response to one question. There's no dialogue or conversation just a monologue from the interviewee. You are expected to boast and use jargon, to have 'goals' and 'envision scenarios'.

The HR person asks question such as " Can you think of a time when....and what did you do about it...."

Good luck.
Old Jan 4th 2011, 1:17 am

ireland2canada is an unknown quantity at this point