Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada / The Maple Leaf

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 6th 2012, 5:00 pm   #1
"In cruce vincam"
 
rivingtonpike's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,533
rivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond repute
Default Expat Shield and Windows 8

Does anybody know if expat shield will work with Windows 8?
__________________
"Local Government is the last refuge of the timid and poor in spirit". Alan Plater
rivingtonpike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8th 2012, 6:44 pm   #2
All Sooked up!
 
james.mc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sooke, BC.
Posts: 1,856
james.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond reputejames.mc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivingtonpike View Post
Does anybody know if expat shield will work with Windows 8?
According to this link.... Yes

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...6132106AA0pxaJ
__________________
FSW1 (MI-1) (NOC 0711) Applied :15 Feb 2010 AOR :12 Aug 2010 Landed :26 Feb 2013.
There! That wasn't hard was it?? Only 3 years!!

Relax! This isn't the mainland!
james.mc is offline  
Old Nov 23rd 2012, 8:33 pm   #3
Just Joined
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
grouchybabes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

I can get hotspot shield to work on win8, but not expat shield, which complains about compatbility issues
grouchybabes is offline  
Old Dec 14th 2012, 9:03 pm   #4
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 200
Luckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud of
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivingtonpike View Post
Does anybody know if expat shield will work with Windows 8?
Hi there, I just bought a new laptop (w/out touchscreen) with W8. Can't say I'm a big fan yet but once I open the 'desktop' tile all is more familiar.....I've now downloaded Expat and all works fine, just as it did on my older W7 system PC.
Luckyone is offline  
Old Dec 15th 2012, 10:55 pm   #5
Living The Cream
 
Mikeypm's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Van for now
Posts: 2,259
Mikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond reputeMikeypm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivingtonpike View Post
Does anybody know if expat shield will work with Windows 8?
Out of interest is this some sort of IP software providing a UK or anonymous IP?
__________________
09/13 LMO, TWP 10/13, FSW2 app sent 04/14, app returnd 05/14, PR app resent 05/14, PR app recd 26/05/14, CC charged 11/09/14 ,LMO app 13/06/14 returned 2 be refiled as LMIA app, LMIA app 14/07/14, LMIA app returnd 29/08/14,PER recd 17/09/14, BOWP app 17/09/14
Mikeypm is offline  
Old Dec 16th 2012, 8:46 pm   #6
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 200
Luckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud ofLuckyone has much to be proud of
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luckyone View Post
Hi there, I just bought a new laptop (w/out touchscreen) with W8. Can't say I'm a big fan yet but once I open the 'desktop' tile all is more familiar.....I've now downloaded Expat and all works fine, just as it did on my older W7 system PC.
....update, expat is now causing problems with the dreaded blue screen (bad pool caller) and google showed this-

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...f-6ca8ccdf9333

It does work but you have to force a re-start....they're going to have to fix things for it to be fully compatible I guess
Luckyone is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2012, 1:29 pm   #7
Just Joined
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
ColinWillies is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

HOTSPOTShield works with no issues in Win 8 Pro.
EXPATShield Tech Support has a version available for their "Elite" customers - they will supply it by mail if you have paid...
EXPATShield "advert funded version" does NOT install on a fresh Win 8 Pro installation, no matter how much you "fiddle" with the compatibility settings.
However ...
EXPATShield "advert funded version" installs and works fine after a reboot if you follow the instructions here: http://superuser.com/questions/49960...t-in-windows-8...

Hope someone finds this useful as it is the result of many hours of testing
ColinWillies is offline  
Old Jan 21st 2013, 7:43 pm   #8
BE Enthusiast
 
airbornesapper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Oromocto, NB
Posts: 851
airbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond reputeairbornesapper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinWillies View Post
... EXPATShield "advert funded version" installs and works fine after a reboot if you follow the instructions here: http://superuser.com/questions/49960...t-in-windows-8...

Hope someone finds this useful as it is the result of many hours of testing
Tried that....on two separate Win 8 computers....installed, runs, works...but crashes the computer..On restart, error message presented "bad pool spooler."

Same problem I had after installing Win 8 managing to leave expatshield installed.

So for now, my home theatre PCs will be staying on WIN 7.

Cheers, AS
airbornesapper is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2013, 7:18 am   #9
Just Joined
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
ColinWillies is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

See this thread for a working solution on Win8 : http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...2dbe4b5&page=2
ColinWillies is offline  
Old Jun 30th 2013, 11:26 pm   #10
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
JasonBourne13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

Expat Shield does work on Windows 8. What you need to do is restart your computer in Safe Mode. Here is how to do that:

Step 1: Press Win+R (WIN is the window button on your keyboard) to get the Run dialog. Type “msconfig” (without the quotes) and launch the utility.

Step 2: In the Boot tab, check Safe boot, followed by the type of Safe Mode that you want to achieve (Network Safe Mode is recommended). Hit Apply. That's it, it will prompt you to Restart your computer, just click the Restart button and wait for Windows 8 to restart.

When you get back to your desktop, go online and download Expat Shield from it's main page. Run the setup. It might prompt you to download toolbars or some other none sense, just click Decline or No and finish the download. After it is finished downloading you can test it online in Safe mode before you reboot in Normal Mode (OPTIONAL).

Then Press Win+R to get the Run dialog. Type “msconfig” (without the quotes) and launch the utility again. In the boot tab, deselect Safe Mode boot and click Ok and just restart your computer.

That's it! Now you have a working Expat Shield with no compatibility issues or any annoying pop-ups saying it doesn't work!! Enjoy!!
JasonBourne13 is offline  
Old Sep 4th 2013, 6:23 pm   #11
Just Joined
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Ivaylovgrad, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Uncle_Granada is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Expat Shield and Windows 8

te to be a party poop but the Safw Mode with Networking solution does not work if one is using a dongle.
Uncle_Granada is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada / The Maple Leaf

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

All times are GMT. The time now is 3:49 pm.


Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com