Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Malta
Reload this Page >

Can anyone help? Malta questions!

Can anyone help? Malta questions!

Old Jan 10th 2011, 11:58 am
Just Joined

165721 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Can anyone help? Malta questions!

Hi,

I have just received a job offer to work in Mosta in Malta. I need to gather info to make an informed and sensible decision, as I have other opportunities available to me and need tobe sure I make the right choice!

First of all I need to ensure the offer is suitable in terms of averages and cost of living. It is E20,000 plus a modest accommodation allowance of E2,640. Now this is a big drop from what I have been earning in the UK, but is this fair; the job is technical and I have a PhD.

Next is taxes. What are the taxes like and what should be expected as a take home from the above?

Also, my partner will be joining me, so we need to be sure that she would be able to work. She is a highly experienced secondary school English teacher in the UK, would there be opportunities for her, and what could she be expected to earn? I have heard there is a big industry in English as a foreign language, but she doesn't have a TEFL certificate or anything...

I don't need to ask about what it is like to live there, as I have got a good feeling for the place over my few days here...

Your help is very much appreciated!

Thank you,

Jack
Old Jan 10th 2011, 6:24 pm
Senior Moment

Mitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can anyone help? Malta questions!