Go Back   British Expats / General / The Lab

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 27th 2017, 5:58 pm   #1
BE Forum Addict
 
Tweedpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Halfway between Ricard & Absynthe
Posts: 2,898
Tweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond repute
Default Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

Having used Macs for many years, this week I've been 'messing' with two donated laptop computers, both Core 2 Duo's, one with Win XP and the other Win 7.
I've cloned Mac drives via firewire in the past using either the free Super Duper or Carbon Copy Cloner software - usually the latter, both being so simple to use.
Must confess Windows is all very grey to me, and I'm a little lost looking through the choice of Windows free cloning software.
I've noted the following:
- Macrium Reflect
- Acronis True Image
- Paragon HD manager suite
- EaseUs ToDo
- Mini Tool Partition Wizard
Can anyone please suggest which of the above may be the most suitable and straight forward for someone who hasn't much of a clue on Windows PC's.
My objective being to store a bootable clone of the OS onto an external HD, and then do a clean install of Linux Mint 18.2 onto the original laptop HD - which should be an interesting challenge in itself!
__________________
.....Sent from my Sinclair ZX81.....
"I can certainly see that you know your wine. Most of the guests who stay here wouldn’t know the difference between Bordeaux and Claret." - Basil Fawlty, Fawlty Towers
Tweedpipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28th 2017, 10:11 pm   #2
Hostage Negotiator
Premium Member
 
InVinoVeritas's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,058
InVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

For what its worth, TP, I've used Acronis in the past and had no problems. Can't comment on the others.
InVinoVeritas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29th 2017, 4:43 am   #3
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Consolacion,Cebu
Posts: 1,747
quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

+1 for Acronis
__________________
If I voice an opinion - it's just that, an opinion!
quiltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29th 2017, 3:35 pm   #4
BE Forum Addict
 
Tweedpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Halfway between Ricard & Absynthe
Posts: 2,898
Tweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

Ok, many thanks for the feedback. I'll give that software a try.
TP
__________________
.....Sent from my Sinclair ZX81.....
"I can certainly see that you know your wine. Most of the guests who stay here wouldn’t know the difference between Bordeaux and Claret." - Basil Fawlty, Fawlty Towers
Tweedpipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31st 2017, 11:12 pm   #5
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 223
Marc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond reputeMarc_ely has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

I used the free Macrium this weekend to do this job and it worked flawlessly.
Marc_ely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2nd 2017, 8:57 am   #6
BE Forum Addict
 
Tweedpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Halfway between Ricard & Absynthe
Posts: 2,898
Tweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_ely View Post
I used the free Macrium this weekend to do this job and it worked flawlessly.
Ok, good to know. Thanks!
__________________
.....Sent from my Sinclair ZX81.....
"I can certainly see that you know your wine. Most of the guests who stay here wouldn’t know the difference between Bordeaux and Claret." - Basil Fawlty, Fawlty Towers
Tweedpipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2nd 2017, 11:44 am   #7
Nutek Male
Premium Member
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 27,982
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

I use a mix of Macrium and Ghost here at work.

For home use I would probably go to Macrium (Free).
Nutek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10th 2017, 10:18 pm   #8
BE Forum Addict
 
johnwoo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,237
johnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond reputejohnwoo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutek View Post
I use a mix of Macrium and Ghost here at work.

For home use I would probably go to Macrium (Free).
Are we talking SSD or HDD or does it matter?
__________________
Giving every man a vote has no more made men wise and free than Christianity has made them good.
H. L. Mencken
johnwoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10th 2017, 11:09 pm   #9
Nutek Male
Premium Member
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 27,982
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cloning from Windows laptop to a new HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwoo View Post
Are we talking SSD or HDD or does it matter?
Both, assuming Windows 7 or higher.
Nutek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   British Expats / General / The Lab


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 7:39 pm.


Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com