Go Back   British Expats / General / The Lab

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old Apr 7th 2012, 10:55 am   #1
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
fionamw's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: near Colmenar, Prov de Malaga
Posts: 5,170
fionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Right. Latest oddity/nightmare. New Toshiba i3 Satellite C670/C670D. No Norton, McAfee proving problematic to activate so I uninstalled and put the previously recommended full range of Avast/Adaware/Spybot & Antimalware. Now....don't know if it's related to that or what, but I can't seem to get into hotmail nor facebook nor a fasthosts webmail account I use for work. All 3 get as far as the tab saying sign in, or a partial-opening but not usable. Any clues? If I were to do a system restore, could I do that to see if anything else was the problem but still retain the antiviral etc stuff?

(secondary question: Spybot came back with 28 issues, none critical but some medium, but they mean nothing to me. Is there a way of finding out in plain english?!)
__________________
'Pause Button Therapy' ...a new book to help you freeze time and consider the consequences of your actions. http://tinyurl.com/c3aswgl
fionamw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9th 2012, 11:56 am   #2
Forum Regular
 
Soundman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Soundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really nice
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Regarding spybot, in my experience, I wouldn't be worried to let spybot go ahead and clean up anything it has found.
I suggest running superantispyware http://www.superantispyware.com/ - choosing the FREE version (on the homepage) and let it run a FULL scan of your computer.
Soundman is offline  
Old Apr 9th 2012, 12:01 pm   #3
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
fionamw's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: near Colmenar, Prov de Malaga
Posts: 5,170
fionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundman View Post
Regarding spybot, in my experience, I wouldn't be worried to let spybot go ahead and clean up anything it has found.
I suggest running superantispyware http://www.superantispyware.com/ - choosing the FREE version (on the homepage) and let it run a FULL scan of your computer.
Thanks, may go back and do that. Because I couldn't use my usual stuff I uninstalled and have now put in the AVG free one; I just wish I knew better how to deal with all this!
__________________
'Pause Button Therapy' ...a new book to help you freeze time and consider the consequences of your actions. http://tinyurl.com/c3aswgl
fionamw is offline  
Old Apr 9th 2012, 9:19 pm   #4
Forum Regular
 
Soundman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Soundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really nice
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Quote:
Originally Posted by fionamw View Post
Thanks, may go back and do that. Because I couldn't use my usual stuff I uninstalled and have now put in the AVG free one; I just wish I knew better how to deal with all this!
If you find AVG cumbersome (can be at times) then why not use Microsoft Security Essentials? - It's free and seems to work well enough. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...ity-essentials

When finished with spybot and superantispyware, I usually UNinstall them as to free-up system resourses. (You can always install them again at a later date.)

Oh.. what version of Windows are you using and what browser & version?
May be a good idea to reset the browser if you're using IE.


Last edited by Soundman; Apr 9th 2012 at 9:23 pm.
Soundman is offline  
Old Apr 9th 2012, 9:47 pm   #5
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
fionamw's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: near Colmenar, Prov de Malaga
Posts: 5,170
fionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundman View Post
If you find AVG cumbersome (can be at times) then why not use Microsoft Security Essentials? - It's free and seems to work well enough. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...ity-essentials

When finished with spybot and superantispyware, I usually UNinstall them as to free-up system resourses. (You can always install them again at a later date.)

Oh.. what version of Windows are you using and what browser & version?
May be a good idea to reset the browser if you're using IE.

The 'not getting into webmail/hotmail/facebook' persisted with microsoft security essentials too. Windows 7. Browser I have to admit I'm not even sure what that means but I've ditched Chrome and things have speeded up a lot. Want to get rid of iGoogle and go for the old google.co.uk but haven't done that yet! What does reset browser mean in that context? I reckon there should be an 'IT dummies' sub-forum so you chaps and chapesses who know what you're doing can opt in or out of helping us plod along!
__________________
'Pause Button Therapy' ...a new book to help you freeze time and consider the consequences of your actions. http://tinyurl.com/c3aswgl
fionamw is offline  
Old Apr 9th 2012, 11:07 pm   #6
Forum Regular
 
Soundman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Soundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really niceSoundman is just really nice
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Go to the link and click the "fix it" icon.
Hope it'll help.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737
Soundman is offline  
Old Apr 10th 2012, 4:38 am   #7
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
fionamw's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: near Colmenar, Prov de Malaga
Posts: 5,170
fionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond reputefionamw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Avast/Windows/can't get into usual locations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundman View Post
Go to the link and click the "fix it" icon.
Hope it'll help.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737
Thanks; have saved to favourites 'in case'..... ditching Chrome seems to have speeded things up a lot, though, for the moment !
__________________
'Pause Button Therapy' ...a new book to help you freeze time and consider the consequences of your actions. http://tinyurl.com/c3aswgl
fionamw is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   British Expats / General / The Lab

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

All times are GMT. The time now is 4:22 am.


Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com