Reload this Page >

Laundry List of Questions- Florence, Italy

Laundry List of Questions- Florence, Italy

Old Jan 8th 2014, 1:09 am
Just Joined

7thunders is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Laundry List of Questions- Florence, Italy

Hello all!

I am planning a move from America to Florence, Italy in early summer of 2015. I have spent countless hours on the internet researching but this seems to leave me even more confused. My biggest concern is employment and how to support myself financially. I have a bachelor's degree in criminal justice and have been a licensed private investigator for 15 years. If anyone could assist me with the following questions- I would be forever grateful! Fear is quite overwhelming at the moment!

1. Where is a web link to find long term housing (as everything I have found is by the day)
2. How do I choose a location? I will be on an extremely limited budget most likely and would prefer a very safe, local neighborhood vs. the tourist neighborhoods. I have heard that prices are double in the tourist areas of Florence.
3. Does anyone know about any American law schools in Florence? I would like to explore that option.
4. Does anyone have any recommendation on how to land a local job? Where are they posted daily? Or International companies that hire American expats would be of great help!
5. What could I expect to pay monthly for a 2 bedroom, simple but clean and full of character apartment, villa, etc (I really don't know the different between a flat, a villa, an apartment if someone would like to explain)
6. Do I obtain a Visa before arrival or once I arrive?
7. Would anyone be willing to provide a list of their monthly cost of living and expense? I will not have a car and plan to utilize public transportation and live very simple so that I can travel Europe over the next 10 years.