When to start the application process

Old Jan 26th 2015, 12:50 am
Just Joined

bmouthboyo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default When to start the application process

Hi everyone,

I am a UK qualified teacher with 5 years UK teaching experience and 2 years teaching at a British International School in Thailand, which I currently work at now. My wife is British and she is a fully RIBA qualified Architect. No children just our 8 month old boxer dog.

We are about to finish out first 2 year contract in June and have signed for another 2 years here, however think it is a good idea to start looking into 'what next'. After speaking to a few friends who have lived in Australia recently we have started to warm to the idea.

Obviously I will need to do a lot of research before making any decisions and here seems as good a place as any. If anyone could help out and answer or direct me to information on any of the questions listed below that would be a huge help.

Demand for IT teachers? As per the title really, is IT a subject where jobs come up often or is there a lot of competition for those positions? Or a shortage subject? Ideally I guess for my wife to find Architecture work we would prefer to be nearer the main cities? And as we are spoilt by the climate here in Thailand it would be nice to go somewhere more north? Again very early thoughts but might have a bearing on things.

Expected Salary for teacher with my experience? Basically 5 years in a secondary school in the UK and 4 years in a British International school in Thailand.

Dad recently got his residency in Australia. Does that help with the application at all? As I am 31 I didn't think so but thought I would ask.

How do I stand with a potential employer? Am I a less attractive candidate for schools? Would I struggle to be offered a position over a local IT teacher who would already know the Australian system etc?