Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

UK Graduate seeking permanent move to Australia; please advise

UK Graduate seeking permanent move to Australia; please advise

Old Feb 5th 2016, 5:06 pm
Just Joined

UKGrad is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Graduate seeking permanent move to Australia; please advise

Hi all,

First time posting so bear with me!

I am in my final year of study at a top UK university and will graduate this June with an economics degree. I spent the penultimate year of my degree at Monash University on an exchange programme. I did this on a Student Non-Award Sector (subclass 575) visa. I fell in love with the place; I have lots of friends there, watched & played lots of footy and also have an uncle living in Melbourne who is a Permanent Resident.

As I am approaching the end of my degree, I am exploring the best way to move to Australia permanently. As I have yet to finish my degree I have no full time post-university work experience, and I get the impression that my economics degree does not place me as well as say an engineering or medicine degree.

What would be the best thing for me to do moving forward? I could get a WHV but I don't see that leading to anything long term. I am flexible with regards to my career at this early stage of my life and have considered accountancy as it is on the SOL, but taking 3 years in the UK to become qualified in the UK and then move to Australia is not ideal. I am perfectly happy considering non-office jobs as well if it means I can train quicker and then move to Australia quicker. Or are there any other routes I could take? Ultimately I just want to finish my degree and move over!

Thanks a lot
Old Feb 5th 2016, 6:00 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace