New Member - Travel/Visa advice please

Old May 15th 2012, 10:19 am
Just Joined

BundyPompeyBoy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New Member - Travel/Visa advice please

Evening all, just found the site during an extensive internet search for relevant information on travel back to UK

I am a British Citizen, married to an Australian, with a 10 month old son born here.

My wife and i met in the UK 5 years ago and married in the UK 4 years ago and have been in Oz since August 2008, our son was born in Bundaberg last July.

We are currently in the provisional planning stages of a month long visit back to the UK for next February. I am an Austrailian permanant resident.

My questions are regarding the citizenship of our son, and what options we have with regards entering the UK then re-entering Oz. My wife and i have not left Australia since we arrived, and as such our son has not either. I have a current british passport and my wife will be renewing her Oz one, and we will be getting an Oz one for our son.

So i will be entering the UK on my British passport while my wife and son will be on their Oz passports... i assume this means a split up at arrivals to go thru separate queues?? And obviously this will be vice versa when we return to Oz.

What documentation will we need to complete with regards to Visa's for my wife and son to stay in the UK for the month?

Am i likely to run into problems upon return to Oz, as the sticker in my UK passport for my spousal visa has an expired date (when my permanent residency was granted i was told they do not apply new stickers as the immigration data base will know that i am a current permanent resident anyway)

What options do we have with regards to getting my son and wife UK passports, and myself an Australian one (i assume i have to to the citizenship test, but can i keep my UK citizenship too and have 2 passsports (2 passports would be the ideal outcome for all 3 of us)