IT grad - sponsorship - where to start?

Old Mar 29th 2012, 3:35 am
Just Joined

gunforhire is an unknown quantity at this point
Default IT grad - sponsorship - where to start?

Hi all,

Sorry if this is the millionth time you've seen a thread like this, I did a quick search but didn't find any existing threads that suited my situation.

Right now I'm in NZ, after spending a year in Oz on a WHV. Loved it, made a bunch of friends and want to go back on a permanent basis. I'm confused about how to go about doing it though. I've had a few email exchanges with an agent with Visa Bureau, but that's only left me even more uncertain of what to do next.

I graduated from uni with a year of professional experience in Computer Science in Dec 2010 back in Belfast. Right now, I don't qualify for an independent skilled visa - I need to work another 12 months in IT before I can even start my application, and also turn 25 which will give me the 5 extra points I need to pass the points test. I turn 25 next February so that's not really an issue as I'd need to work for at least that long to get the minimum experience I need anyway.

My understanding of it is that I'd need to get the experience, proof of that from my employer, a police check, medical check, skills test, etc to make my application. By Visa Bureau's guess that could take 18 months from next February (assuming I applied then) to be processed and it'd cost me in the region of £5000 all in.