Route to NZ

Old Nov 14th 2017, 9:45 pm
Just Joined

EcosseHomme is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Route to NZ

Hi, I'm making plans to relocate myself & family (wife + 2 kids) to NZ. I'm a mechanical design engineer with 7 years experience, and I'm hoping to land a job offer while we are still in the UK then apply for a work to residency visa. However, if getting a job offer proves to be difficult, I'm considering making the move over without a job offer and searching for employment there. Could I make this work on a WHV for myself & visitor visas for my family? I'd have enough money to make a go of it for 9 months or so. My hope is that I'd secure a job during that time with an accredited employer then apply for a work visa that I could support my family on as well. Does anyone see any potential pitfalls with this method (except from not finding a job, spending all our savings and returning to UK with tails between our legs!)
Thanks for any advice.
Old Nov 14th 2017, 11:18 pm
`

BEVS has disabled reputation
Default Re: Route to NZ

Hi and welcome to BE.

First things first I suppose.

You would not be able to make the move over using a combination of WHV and visitors visa. Both are for holiday purposes . It would be likely that immigration would query your intent if you and your family would be on differing visas.

Yes. Do try to gain a job offer in advance if you can. If not then maybe line up some interviews and just you come in with the purpose of attending those but declare this to NZ Immy.

Compacsort is an NZIS accredited employer and is currently looking for a mech design engineer.
Old Nov 15th 2017, 6:37 am
Forum Regular