Travel restrictions to Cuba?

Old Jan 29th 2001, 5:11 pm
Roger Wright

Hi everyone,

I am a new Canadian permanent resident, and a citizen of the USA. I was planning to maybe
take a vacation in Cuba, and do not know if I am allowed to. US citizens are not permitted
to go there, except in special circumstances, but am I allowed because of my permanent
residency? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Roger

Old Jan 29th 2001, 5:26 pm
Kevon Alyeen

Hello Roger, I am no immigration expert, but having Canadian PR will give you no special
rights in Cuba. Down there, you will be treated as a US citizen and therefore might have
difficulty traveling. However, if you were a dual citizen of both US and Canada, then you
could use your Canadian passport to travel to Cuba with less of a hassle, without ever
letting the Cubans know of your existing US citizenship.

If you are looking for a holiday down south, try Belize or something . Very cheap and
the locals are much more friendly.... (at least according to temptation island.. but
that's another Pandora's box we don't wana get into...)

/Kevon

> Hi everyone,
>
> I am a new Canadian permanent resident, and a citizen of the USA. I was planning to
> maybe take a vacation in Cuba, and do not know if I am allowed to. US citizens are not
> permitted to go there, except in special circumstances, but am I allowed because of my
> permanent residency? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
>
> Roger

Old Jan 30th 2001, 12:10 pm
Stephen C. Gallagher

Hello Roger,
> I am no immigration expert, but having Canadian PR will give you no
special
> rights in Cuba. Down there, you will be treated as a US citizen and therefore might have
> difficulty traveling. However, if you were a dual citizen of both US and Canada, then
> you could use your Canadian passport
to
> travel to Cuba with less of a hassle, without ever letting the Cubans know of your
> existing US citizenship.