Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

First steps to deciding to emigrate to Ontario

First steps to deciding to emigrate to Ontario

Old Aug 4th 2015, 1:10 pm
Just Joined

Joel19891 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default First steps to deciding to emigrate to Ontario

Hello,

My girlfriend and I are considering emigrating to Ontario from Wales, UK, I've spent quite a bit of time reading over the information on the Immigration Canada site and must say, I'm feeling rather overwhelmed and have no idea which avenue to go down, what the first steps are etc.

So a little background...

Both of us are 25 and British Citizens - I work as a Software/Website Developer in the Insurance Industry and my girlfriend is a Copyrighter/Content Writer within a Marketing Department of an Insurance Company.

My auntie (+ 2 cousins) already live in Ontario. She has been living in Canada for around 36 years and is a Canadian Citizen.

I've visited countless times over the last 25 years and I love it. I took my girlfriend for a visit in July and she too loved it - We're heading back for a winter holiday in February for her to experience the winter, and that'll be the decider (we'll see how she handles the cold! :P)

I'm aware of the Points Based System (Skilled Workers?) which requires a minimum of 67 and I ran through the eligibility test - The results said I had 77 points and my girlfriend had 69.

The confusing thing is, if we come back from Canada in February, make the decision to apply, the first thing we'll need to do is know what we're applying for. Our full intentions are to move over to Ontario (providing we can find jobs straight away or have the required funds to support ourselves if we don't have an immediate job) and apply to become permanent residents which is what my auntie did many years ago (I guess the system has changed since that time).