Filling in immigration forms

Old Jan 29th 2001, 11:44 am
ppickfor

Hi,

Our family (myself, wife and two daughters) are in the process of immigrating to Canada
from the UK under independent classification. We intend to land in Vancouver as we think
the area is beautiful, has a temperate climate and I have relatives on Vancouver island.

I am a unix systems and administrator looking at the NOC list at
http://www.on.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca/ottawa/menu/occnoc.stm it seems that NOC: 2162 - Computer
Systems Analysts seems to fit my experience as a significant part of my role involves
other duties than programming (2163).

I have discovered that the the pdf forms on
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/coming/eindepen.html can be filled in with acrobat or acrobat
reader. The files on http://www.canada.org.uk/visa-info/forms/immforms.htm can't be filled
in using acrobat.

The Canadian high commission site in London
http://www.canada.org.uk/visa-info/forms/immforms.htm has an additional form immsum.pdf is
the required and if so where can I get a copy with form fields so that it can be filled in
with acrobat?

The forms seem mostly straight forward but I am unsure of one or two points.

The instructions say to enter all places that you have lived since you were 18 does this
include addresses from when studying away from home in term time but still living at home?

As I have been contracting since 1995 I have been employed by my own limited company and
performed many assignments. When listing employment should I enter my own company or each
of the assignments. The references I am providing to demonstrate experience will be from
contacting assignments so I am wondering if this would confuse an immigration officer if
the references and employment companies don't match. Also should all salaries be
converted to Canadian dollars and should the salary be minimum maximum or average? Do I
need to get supporting evidence for all jobs I have had? One company I worked for has