Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada / Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 12th 2017, 11:38 pm   #1
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

I am applying for immigration to Canada

my plan is as following,
once i get the PR visa, I will go to Canada for landing for one week, then go back to Australia to settle things up (it may take a while)

my question is to get the PR card, do I need to be in Canada at that time or the PR Visa itself is the card?
can I give them my address in Australia to send cards to?
can I give them a relative address in Canada to send cards to?
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12th 2017, 11:41 pm   #2
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 926
Vulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
I am applying for immigration to Canada

my plan is as following,
once i get the PR visa, I will go to Canada for landing for one week, then go back to Australia to settle things up (it may take a while)

my question is to get the PR card, do I need to be in Canada at that time or the PR Visa itself is the card?
can I give them my address in Australia to send cards to?
can I give them a relative address in Canada to send cards to?
You can give any genuine address in Canada (ie a friend's address is fine, a PO box to check later is not).

They cannot be sent outside of Canada by IRCC.
__________________
IEC 2014/15, CL PR 5/12/16-2/5/17
Vulcanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13th 2017, 4:24 pm   #3
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,255
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Pretty much what Vulcanoid said....

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
my question is to get the PR card, do I need to be in Canada at that time or the PR Visa itself is the card?
When you land, you can 'activate' your CoPR. You can then either provide a Canadian address for them to send the PR Card to, OR you can defer this and apply for your PR Card at a later date (but must be within 1 year). Personally, I would (and have done) the former, not the latter.

Be careful not to 'confuse' the CBSA people with too much information. Just tell them 'my address in Canada is xxxxxxx' - don't get into 'I'm only here for a short time, this is a relatives address, etc. (but equally, if asked directly, tell the truth) - they have been known to say 'well then you can only apply for your PR Card when you have your own address'. The problem this gives you is that you will then need a 'one use' Permanent Residents Travel Document (PRTD) to fly back into Canada the next time as you will be classed as a permanent resident, so cannot apply for an ETA, but equally do not have a PR Card - so the airline won't let you board.

The Canadian address cannot be a PO Box number (but AIUI it can be a residential PO Box number, which is not at all uncommon in Canada - I have this).

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
can I give them my address in Australia to send cards to?
Nope. No chance at all!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
can I give them a relative address in Canada to send cards to?

Yes, this is what we did. My buddy then couriered it to us in the UK when he got it (some 2.5 months later).
__________________
Spousal sponsorship: Recd CPC 23/6/2016, AOR 12/7/2016, SA 23/8/2016, LVO, DM 21/12/2016, CoPR 24/12/2016, Flagpole 11/04/2017, PR Card 01/07/2017, Landed 10/11/2017 Ottawa
Spousal sponsorship FAQ / Wiki
Spousal Sponsorship via London spreadsheet
Hurlabrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13th 2017, 8:43 pm   #4
BE Forum Addict
 
Engineer_abroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,364
Engineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond reputeEngineer_abroad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Note, there have been some issues with people being denied boarding by airlines without an ETA or PR card (some airlines have not been accepting COPR paperwork which will be stapled into your passport when you land). As a PR you cannot obtain a new ETA so make sure the one you travel on this time will still be in date when you plan on returning or you may need to get a travel document.
__________________
TFW 12-11-15 (ICT SK)//EE pool 04-1-17// ITA (CEC) 12-1-2017 //Application 03-3-17//approval 28-7-17//COPR 2-8-17//landed 5-9-17//PR Card 16-1-18
Engineer_abroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13th 2017, 8:53 pm   #5
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,255
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Engineer_abroad View Post
Note, there have been some issues with people being denied boarding by airlines without an ETA or PR card (some airlines have not been accepting COPR paperwork which will be stapled into your passport when you land). As a PR you cannot obtain a new ETA so make sure the one you travel on this time will still be in date when you plan on returning or you may need to get a travel document.
Yep - that is exactly the problem. We were 'sweating' until we got the treasured PR Card! Didnt fancy the aggro of a PRTD!
Hurlabrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14th 2017, 10:43 pm   #6
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Thanks guys.. much appreciated.. this is really help a lot.
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14th 2017, 11:16 pm   #7
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurlabrick View Post
The problem this gives you is that you will then need a 'one use' Permanent Residents Travel Document (PRTD) to fly back into Canada the next time as you will be classed as a permanent resident, so cannot apply for an ETA, but equally do not have a PR Card - so the airline won't let you board.
This is really confusing.
If I cant get ETA then how am I going to go back to Canada?
Can I ask my relative to mail me the PR card to Australia and then use it?
or shall I apply for ETA as Australian Citizen not as Canadian PR ( if that possible )?!!
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14th 2017, 11:19 pm   #8
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 926
Vulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
This is really confusing.
If I cant get ETA then how am I going to go back to Canada?
Can I ask my relative to mail me the PR card to Australia and then use it?
or shall I apply for ETA as Australian Citizen not as Canadian PR ( if that possible )?!!

Once you are a PR you are not eligible to have an eTA. The system will (should) refuse any effort you make to get one, because you are a PR. You must fly on your PR Card, or a PR Travel Document.

If your friends/family mail/courier you the card, you can fly on that, or you can apply for a PRTD to travel to Canada if you need to fly and don't have one. Or you can fly to the US, and cross the land border, where they can look up that you're a PR, and have the right of entry.
__________________
IEC 2014/15, CL PR 5/12/16-2/5/17
Vulcanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14th 2017, 11:21 pm   #9
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Thanks Vulcanoid
it sounds like complex process to travel from Canada before you get the PR card.

It seems that not many people doing that
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15th 2017, 11:52 am   #10
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,255
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
Thanks Vulcanoid
it sounds like complex process to travel from Canada before you get the PR card.

It seems that not many people doing that
It is! You need to either wait until you physically have the PR card itself, or apply for a PRTD (which is a PITA!!).

OR as an 'final fallback' fly to the US and drive across the border.

We waited for my buddy to courier us the PR card!
Hurlabrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17th 2017, 11:42 pm   #11
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Do I have to apply for PRTD while I am in Canada, or I can do it after leaving Canada?
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17th 2017, 11:45 pm   #12
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,255
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
Do I have to apply for PRTD while I am in Canada, or I can do it after leaving Canada?
If you want to go this route, you have to apply to the local visa office / embassy outside of Canada once you are back outside Canada.
Hurlabrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18th 2017, 2:16 am   #13
KenA 
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 161
KenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really niceKenA is just really nice
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Do you have any idea how long does the PRTD need?
KenA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18th 2017, 12:26 pm   #14
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,255
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
Do you have any idea how long does the PRTD need?
Depends on the visa office and degree of urgency. But days or maybe a couple of weeks, not months.
Hurlabrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18th 2017, 9:49 pm   #15
Every day's a school day
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Was Calgary back in Edmonton again !!
Posts: 2,554
cheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to be in Canada for the PR card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenA View Post
Do you have any idea how long does the PRTD need?
You can a get a PRTD in 48 hrs if you apply in person and pick it up in person also.
__________________
AOR 13 Jan 05
90 Day letter 8 Dec 06
Updated info sent 31st Jan 07. med request 25th July 07..meds done 23rd Aug 07..PPR 1st Oct 07..Visas 7th Nov 07..landed Apr 08
cheeky_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada / Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 1:09 am.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com