Reload this Page >

Advice on Moving to France post Brexit

Advice on Moving to France post Brexit

Old Jul 5th 2017, 3:14 pm
Just Joined

Charlitesweb is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Advice on Moving to France post Brexit

Hi,
I have dual nationalities - American and British, and have lived in the USA for over 20 years.
I would like to explore moving to France in a couple of years. I would by then most likely be retired (I am a registered nurse) but might open a B&B, while I play as an artist.
We are thinking of the South of France somewhere ( I do speak French)
What is the situation with Brexit - will people still be able to move to the Continent - especially France ?
My husband is American. How would that affect him? Would being married to me make any difference?
Can someone provide me with resources on buying a house in France?
Thanks so much
Old Jul 5th 2017, 3:50 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

EuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Advice on Moving to France post Brexit

Welcome to the forum.
Unfortunately unless someone on here has a very good crystal ball, all we can do is guess what the position with regard to freedom of movement for Brits will be post Brexit. Theresa May herself doesn't seem to know whether she wants it or not. And even if she does decide she wants it, she might not want to pay whatever price is asked.
Personally, in your shoes I would either wait until things become a bit clearer, or plan on the basis that your UK passport will count for nothing. Then if in fact it is some use, it'll be a bonus.
Old Jul 5th 2017, 6:11 pm