Reload this Page >

Baku - Money/Tax - UK ?

Baku - Money/Tax - UK ?

Old Jan 18th 2012, 11:17 pm
Just Joined

rockyram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Baku - Money/Tax - UK ?

Hello there,
I have just been offered a job to work in Baku and I was looking for some decent informative advice in respect of money and tax concerns mainly. I will be leaving the UK and moving to Azerbaijan in April. This will be the first time for me to take on an overseas role so I am a newbie to this (unfortunately). Hope you can help on topics below:

Money
- How do british expats normally receive and spend money while living in Baku? I think I will agree with the company to pay me into my UK bank account however what will be the best option to make purchase/withdraw money while in Baku that is cost effective?

Tax
- I am hoping to start work on the 5th of April which is being agreed with the company however I just wanted to know from a tax point of view what are the implications if I end up leaving the UK in the new tax year? I heard somehwere that you need at least 2 tax years outside the UK to be considered a non resident. Can any UK nationals also tell me if I need to submit any paperwork/forms to the tax authorities/government prior to my departure to the UK?

Any information on the topics above will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Old Jan 20th 2012, 10:05 am
Senior Moment

Mitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Baku - Money/Tax - UK ?