Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

vetassess practical assessment: Electrician

vetassess practical assessment: Electrician

Old Nov 3rd 2012, 10:34 am
Just Joined

ryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really niceryan12 is just really nice
Default vetassess practical assessment: Electrician

I recently completed my Vetassess practical assessment (Electrician general)

The candidate guide Vetassess send, gives you an idea of what to expect, although it is quite vague in places.

I got a more accurate idea of what to expect on the day, from people posting on forums like this. Although some information was misleading, most was very helpful.
So I have decided to repay the favor and share my experience

I'm sure not every assessment is identical, and just because this is what happened in mine doesn't necessarily mean the next assessment will be the same, but i would be surprised if there wasn't comparisons.

Ill start by saying that on the day itself I was a nervous wreck, its a lot of money and nobody wants to fail, but I was put at ease by the friendliness and helpfulness of the assessors. They just want to see you know what you are doing, they are not there to trick you or catch you out, my biggest tip would be just to relax and if you are having trouble with anything just step back and think things through (you have plenty of time so make the most of it)

The day started with the theory exam.
Like many, I hadn't done much on the subject since my days at college.
In the candidate guide they give you a list of things that may come up.In my exam all of those things came up so I would recommend looking into all of them.
I got a copy of the book 'Electrical installation calculations' by A.J Watkins and C.Kitcher, which i found very helpful.